UPDATE: “ARCHIVAL ACCOUNTABILITY GAP…Is there a democratic deficit in archives?”, Conference…reports now available online

Update: the conference reports are now available on-line at: * ...Is there a democratic deficit in archives?" 24-25 January 2017 The Great Hall, Sutherland Building Northumbria University Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE1 8ST "The conference will begin by looking at the needs of the future generation of users, it will then discuss the vital issues of records management in developing countries. It will consider the importance of records in the investigation of tragedies and transgressions. It will explore how new ...

Read More


BRA ARE MOVING, 1 APRIL 2017. At the Annual General Meeting in October we reported that BRA would be cutting unnecessary costs by vacating the office in West Library. The process of sorting and distributing the remaining books and records stored in the office has taken somewhat longer than anticipated but we are pleased to announce that as from 1 April BRA will be based at 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ. This new arrangement will take advantage of competitively priced shared workspace, with access to meeting rooms and off-site storage available at no extra ...

Read More

A Report on the 2015 BRA Annual Conference: ‘Archives and Sport’

THE BRA ANNUAL CONFERENCE: “‘In a League of their own’: Archives of the History of British Sport and Physical Recreation” The BRA Annual Conference took place on 26th November 2015 at Swedenborg House, Bloomsbury Way, London WC1. Around 40 participants were treated to a fascinating selection of papers about different aspects of the history of British sport. Before the proceedings began, Julia Sheppard, BRA Chair, gave a brief report about the EGM and AGM the previous week, and in particular the momentous vote at the EGM, by a substantial majority, for the BRA to ...

Read More